The Caribbean Taxonomic Network of 


Who's who in CARINET



CARINET is governed by the LOOP Coordinating Committee (LCC) comprising Coordinators of the National Coordinating Institutes (NACIs) and representatives from specific National Institutions (NIs) e.g. University of the West Indies(UWI), Caribbean Agriculture Development Institute (CARDI), University of Suriname (UvS), Institute of Jamaica (IoJ).

The LCC determines the priorities for biosystematics for the region as a whole since the members of the LCC are intimately aware of the activities, needs and status of biosystematics in the institutions that fall under their remit. The LCC meets at least once per year to review progress, approve the Programmes of Work (POW) and budgets.

The Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) acts on behalf of the LCC and oversees the implementation of the POW. 

The Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) -
This comprises seven members of the LCC including the Chairman and Deputy Chairman and is responsible for translating the directives of the LCC into specific actions to be executed by various LOOP institutes and coordinated by the Network Coordinating Institute (NECI). The NECI effectively serves as the Secretariat of the LOOP and is the direct link between all NACIs and the Technical Secretariat (TECSEC) of BioNET-INTERNATIONAL.

It should be noted that NACIs and NIs, though managing their own affairs, are closely linked through the LCC representative to the activities of the LOOP, so as to corporately achieve regional self-reliance in biosystematics.

At the second meeting of the LCC it was decided to concentrate biosystematic activity in the region at five Centres of Excellence CEs), namely: Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago. It was also mandated that the national reference collections of the other states of the sub-region be established and/or upgraded.